Sunday, April 06, 2008

The Book of Kings

Having been established on the firm foundation of the house of David, the nation of Israel acts out the tragic fall of man in its national history. Having fallen into disobedience, the family of Israel is split into two kingdoms at enmity with each other. The court history of each kingdom (Israel especially) is a bloody mess of coups and horrific purges. Despite the warnings and witness of the great prophets, Israel and Judah fall into idolatry, and are driven by God into exile from the paradise of the land of promise.

Volume One
  1. The Son of David (1-3)
  2. In All of His Splendor (4-10)
  3. Unless the Lord Build the House (11-14)
  4. Salvation is of the Jews (13)
  5. A Dry and Weary Land (15-19)
  6. Folly From God (20-22)
Volume Two
  1. Chariots of Fire (1-7)
  2. Driving Like Jehu (8-13)
  3. The Sum of All Fears (14-17)
  4. Salvation Belongs To Our God (18-20)
  5. The Necessary Suffering (21-25)